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The Tax Foundation is the nation’s leading independent tax policy 
research organization. Our research and analysis is guided by the 
principles of sound tax policy:

SIMPLICITY: Administrative costs are a loss to society, and 
complicated taxation undermines voluntary compliance by 
creating incentives to shelter and disguise income.
 
TRANSPARENCY: Tax legislation should be based on sound 
legislative procedures and careful analysis. A good tax system 
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assessment, collection, and compliance works. There should be 
open hearings, and revenue estimates should be fully explained 
and replicable.
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economic decisions. The purpose of taxes is to raise needed 
revenue, not to favor or punish specific industries, activities, and 
products. 

STABILITY: When tax laws are in constant flux, long-range 
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temporary tax laws, including tax holidays and amnesties.
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Table 1.  
Tax Freedom Day by State 
Calendar Year 2015

Taxes and Tax Measures

Note: Tax Freedom Day represents how long into the year Americans work 
before they have earned enough money to pay all federal, state, and local 
taxes for the year. New Tax Freedom Day data is released every spring at 
www.TaxFreedomDay.org. D.C.’s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but 
the figure in parentheses indicates where it would rank if included.

Source: Tax Freedom Day 2015, which is based on data from the Bureau 
of Economic Analysis.

State
Tax Freedom 

Day Rank
U.S. April 24
Ala. April 9 4
Alaska April 15 15
Ariz. April 15 15
Ark. April 14 10
Calif. May 3 46
Colo. April 25 36
Conn. May 13 49
Del. April 20 26
Fla. April 20 26
Ga. April 15 15
Hawaii April 19 25
Idaho April 14 10
Ill. April 30 43
Ind. April 18 24
Iowa April 16 18
Kans. April 21 31
Ky. April 11 6
La. April 2 1
Maine April 14 10
Md. May 5 47
Mass. May 2 45
Mich. April 20 26
Minn. April 30 43
Miss. April 4 2
Mo. April 14 10

Mont. April 17 20
Nebr. April 17 20
Nev. April 20 26
N.H. April 23 35
N.J. May 13 49
N.M. April 11 6
N.Y. May 8 48
N.C. April 16 18
N.D. April 29 41
Ohio April 17 20
Okla. April 14 10
Ore. April 22 32
Pa. April 25 36
R.I. April 26 39
S.C. April 12 8
S.D. April 8 3
Tenn. April 9 4
Texas April 17 20
Utah April 20 26
Vt. April 22 32
Va. April 27 40
Wash. April 29 41
W.Va. April 13 9
Wis. April 25 36
Wyo. April 22 32
D.C. April 23 (35)

State
Tax Freedom 

Day Rank



Taxes and Tax Measures

Table 2.  
State-Local Tax Burdens per Capita & as 
a Percentage of Income 
Fiscal Year 2012

State

State-Local Tax 
Burden as a Share 

of State Income Rank
Total Tax Burden  

(per Capita)
U.S. 9.9% $4,420
Ala. 8.7% 37 $3,067
Alaska 6.5% 50 $3,229
Ariz. 8.8% 36 $3,276
Ark. 10.1% 17 $3,519
Calif. 11.0% 4 $5,237
Colo. 8.9% 34 $4,304
Conn. 12.6% 2 $7,869
Del. 10.2% 13 $4,412
Fla. 8.9% 34 $3,738
Ga. 9.1% 32 $3,426
Hawaii 10.2% 13 $4,576
Idaho 9.3% 26 $3,318
Ill. 11.0% 4 $5,235
Ind. 9.5% 22 $3,585
Iowa 9.2% 30 $4,037
Kans. 9.5% 22 $4,131
Ky. 9.5% 22 $3,298
La. 7.6% 45 $2,950
Maine 10.2% 13 $3,997
Md. 10.9% 7 $5,920
Mass. 10.3% 10 $5,872
Mich. 9.4% 25 $3,631
Minn. 10.8% 8 $5,185
Miss. 8.6% 40 $2,742
Mo. 9.3% 26 $3,591
Mont. 8.7% 37 $3,389
Nebr. 9.2% 30 $4,197
Nev. 8.1% 43 $3,349
N.H. 7.9% 44 $3,961
N.J. 12.2% 3 $6,926
N.M. 8.7% 37 $3,141
N.Y. 12.7% 1 $6,993
N.C. 9.8% 18 $3,659



Taxes and Tax Measures

Table 2, Continued. 
State-Local Tax Burdens per Capita & as 
a Percentage of Income 
Fiscal Year 2012

Note: Data for years 1977 to present are available at www.taxfoundation.
org/burdens. Payments made to out-of-state governments are tallied in 
the taxpayer’s state of residence where possible. D.C.’s rank does not 
affect states’ ranks, but the figure in parentheses indicates where it would 
rank if included. See Table 39 for average people per household by state.

Source: Tax Foundation, State-Local Tax Burdens FY 2012.

N.D. 9.0% 33 $4,867
Ohio 9.8% 18 $3,924
Okla. 8.6% 40 $3,515
Ore. 10.3% 10 $4,095
Pa. 10.2% 13 $4,589
R.I. 10.8% 8 $4,998
S.C. 8.4% 42 $2,936
S.D. 7.1% 48 $3,318
Tenn. 7.3% 47 $2,805
Texas 7.6% 45 $3,340
Utah 9.6% 21 $3,556
Vt. 10.3% 10 $4,557
Va. 9.3% 26 $4,623
Wash. 9.3% 26 $4,541
W.Va. 9.8% 18 $3,331
Wis. 11.0% 4 $4,734
Wyo. 7.1% 48 $4,407
D.C. 10.6% (10) $7,541

State

State-Local Tax 
Burden as a Share 

of State Income Rank
Total Tax Burden  

(per Capita)



Taxes and Tax Measures

Table 3.  
2016 State Business Tax Climate Index 
As of July 1, 2015

State

Overall 
Index 
Rank

Ranking on Five Component Taxes

Corp. 
Tax 

Ind. 
Income 

Tax 
Sales 
Tax

Unemp. 
Ins. Tax

Prop. 
Tax 

Ala. 29 25 22 41 26 17
Alaska 3 30 1 5 21 21
Ariz. 24 22 19 49 9 6
Ark. 38 42 29 43 43 27
Calif. 48 35 50 40 13 13
Colo. 18 15 16 44 33 12
Conn. 44 33 36 29 20 49
Del. 14 50 33 1 4 15
Fla. 4 17 1 17 3 20
Ga. 39 9 42 35 37 31
Hawaii 31 10 37 14 24 14
Idaho 19 24 23 33 45 4
Ill. 23 36 10 11 39 45
Ind. 8 20 11 24 14 5
Iowa 40 49 32 32 34 40
Kans. 22 40 18 9 10 19
Ky. 28 29 30 9 46 23
La. 37 38 27 50 5 28
Maine 34 45 26 10 41 41
Md. 41 19 45 8 28 42
Mass. 25 39 13 18 47 46
Mich. 13 11 15 7 48 26
Minn. 47 46 46 36 29 30
Miss. 20 13 21 28 8 35
Mo. 17 3 28 23 12 8
Mont. 6 23 20 3 18 9
Nebr. 27 31 24 26 2 39
Nev. 5 4 1 39 42 7
N.H. 7 48 9 2 44 43
N.J. 50 43 48 47 31 50
N.M. 35 27 34 48 7 1
N.Y. 49 12 49 42 32 47
N.C. 15 7 14 31 11 32
N.D. 26 14 35 22 16 3



Taxes and Tax Measures

Table 3, Continued. 
2016 State Business Tax Climate Index  
As of July 1, 2015

Ohio 42 26 47 30 6 11
Okla. 33 8 40 38 1 18
Ore. 11 37 31 4 27 10
Pa. 32 47 17 25 50 38
R.I. 45 34 38 27 49 44
S.C. 36 16 41 19 35 25
S.D. 2 1 1 34 40 22
Tenn. 16 18 8 46 25 37
Texas 10 41 6 37 15 34
Utah 9 5 12 16 19 2
Vt. 46 44 44 15 17 48
Va. 30 6 39 6 38 29
Wash. 12 28 6 45 23 24
W.Va. 21 21 25 21 22 16
Wis. 43 32 43 13 36 33
Wyo. 1 1 1 12 30 36
D.C. (42) (36) (34) (40) (27) (39)

State

Overall 
Index 
Rank

Ranking on Five Component Taxes

Corp. 
Tax 

Ind. 
Income 

Tax 
Sales 
Tax

Unemp. 
Ins. Tax

Prop. 
Tax 

Note: The State Business Tax Climate Index measures how each state’s 
tax laws affect economic performance. A rank of 1 means the state’s tax 
system is more favorable for business; a rank of 50 means the state’s tax 
system is less favorable for business. Component rankings do not average 
to the total. States without a given tax rank equally as number 1. D.C.’s 
ranks do not affect states’ ranks, but the figures in parentheses indicate 
where it would rank if included.

Source: Tax Foundation, 2016 State Business Tax Climate Index.



Taxes and Tax Measures

Table 4.  
State Tax Collections per Capita 
Fiscal Year 2014

Note: D.C. is included only in combined state and local data. See Table 39 
for average people per household by state.

Source: Census Bureau; Tax Foundation calculations.

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank

U.S. $2,677
Ala. $1,924 43
Alaska $4,601 3
Ariz. $1,973 42
Ark. $3,021 15
Calif. $3,594 10
Colo. $2,230 38
Conn. $4,501 4
Del. $3,432 11
Fla. $1,806 49
Ga. $1,864 46
Hawaii $4,283 5
Idaho $2,277 37
Ill. $3,040 14
Ind. $2,564 26
Iowa $2,675 22
Kans. $2,534 28
Ky. $2,524 30
La. $2,095 40
Maine $2,895 17
Md. $3,189 13
Mass. $3,762 9
Mich. $2,505 31
Minn. $4,267 6
Miss. $2,532 29
Mo. $1,860 47

Mont. $2,618 24
Nebr. $2,609 25
Nev. $2,560 27
N.H. $1,726 50
N.J. $3,332 12
N.M. $2,759 21
N.Y. $3,909 7
N.C. $2,376 33
N.D. $8,458 1
Ohio $2,335 35
Okla. $2,362 34
Ore. $2,465 32
Pa. $2,675 22
R.I. $2,817 19
S.C. $1,873 45
S.D. $1,903 44
Tenn. $1,817 48
Texas $2,085 41
Utah $2,174 39
Vt. $4,724 2
Va. $2,292 36
Wash. $2,789 20
W.Va. $2,903 16
Wis. $2,857 18
Wyo. $3,881 8

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank



Table 5.  
State Revenue per Capita 
Fiscal Year 2013

Note: “Revenue” refers to the Census Bureau’s General Revenue 
classification. This measure includes taxes, fees, licenses, and 
intergovernmental revenue but excludes revenue from government 
enterprises such as utilities and liquor stores, as well as insurance trust 
revenue. D.C. is included only in combined state and local data. See Table 
39 for average people per household by state.

Source: Census Bureau; Tax Foundation calculations.

State
Revenue per 

Capita Rank
U.S. $5,403
Ala. $4,712 39
Alaska $16,653 1
Ariz. $4,400 44
Ark. $5,852 19
Calif. $5,719 21
Colo. $4,388 45
Conn. $7,074 8
Del. $8,423 5
Fla. $3,814 50
Ga. $3,842 49
Hawaii $7,684 7
Idaho $4,551 42
Ill. $5,086 35
Ind. $5,098 34
Iowa $5,994 16
Kans. $5,267 28
Ky. $5,212 31
La. $5,458 25
Maine $6,014 15
Md. $5,859 17
Mass. $6,884 9
Mich. $5,489 24
Minn. $6,393 13
Miss. $5,854 18
Mo. $4,412 43

Mont. $5,686 22
Nebr. $5,253 30
Nev. $4,086 48
N.H. $4,636 41
N.J. $6,047 14
N.M. $6,850 10
N.Y. $8,390 6
N.C. $4,832 37
N.D. $11,138 2
Ohio $5,267 28
Okla. $5,398 27
Ore. $5,813 20
Pa. $5,457 26
R.I. $6,585 12
S.C. $4,647 40
S.D. $4,774 38
Tenn. $4,218 47
Texas $4,262 46
Utah $5,101 33
Vt. $8,986 4
Va. $4,976 36
Wash. $5,115 32
W.Va. $6,687 11
Wis. $5,620 23
Wyo. $10,168 3

State
Revenue per 

Capita Rank

Taxes and Tax Measures
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Table 6.  
State & Local Tax Collections per Capita 
Fiscal Year 2013

Note: “Revenue” refers to the Census Bureau’s General Revenue clas-
sification. This measure includes revenue such as taxes, fees, licenses, 
and intergovernmental revenue but excludes revenue from government 
enterprises such as utilities and liquor stores, as well as insurance trust 
revenue. D.C.’s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in paren-
theses indicates where it would rank if included. See Table 39 for average 
people per household by state.

Source: Census Bureau; Tax Foundation calculations.

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank

U.S. $4,600
Ala. $3,048 50
Alaska $9,211 1
Ariz. $3,417 44
Ark. $3,639 36
Calif. $5,328 13
Colo. $4,339 23
Conn. $7,263 4
Del. $4,611 19
Fla. $3,378 45
Ga. $3,324 46
Hawaii $5,708 8
Idaho $3,165 48
Ill. $5,374 12
Ind. $3,793 33
Iowa $4,459 20
Kans. $4,457 21
Ky. $3,508 40
La. $3,796 32
Maine $4,818 15
Md. $5,470 10
Mass. $5,723 7
Mich. $3,750 34
Minn. $5,548 9
Miss. $3,431 43
Mo. $3,460 42

Mont. $3,798 31
Nebr. $4,653 17
Nev. $3,877 29
N.H. $4,197 26
N.J. $6,309 5
N.M. $3,673 35
N.Y. $8,049 3
N.C. $3,610 37
N.D. $8,823 2
Ohio $4,274 24
Okla. $3,492 41
Ore. $3,909 27
Pa. $4,626 18
R.I. $5,131 14
S.C. $3,196 47
S.D. $3,509 38
Tenn. $3,106 49
Texas $3,863 30
Utah $3,509 38
Vt. $5,420 11
Va. $4,239 25
Wash. $4,416 22
W.Va. $3,899 28
Wis. $4,803 16
Wyo. $5,795 6
D.C. $9,514 (1)

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank
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Table 7.  
State & Local Revenue per Capita 
Fiscal Year 2013

Note: “Revenue” refers to the Census Bureau’s General Revenue clas-
sification. This measure includes revenue such as taxes, fees, licenses, 
and intergovernmental revenue but excludes revenue from government 
enterprises such as utilities and liquor stores, as well as insurance trust 
revenue. D.C.’s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in paren-
theses indicates where it would rank if included. See Table 39 for average 
people per household by state.

Source: Census Bureau; Tax Foundation calculations.

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank

U.S. $8,503
Ala. $7,243 41
Alaska $20,651 1
Ariz. $6,686 47
Ark. $7,237 42
Calif. $9,320 13
Colo. $8,254 27
Conn. $10,425 5
Del. $10,005 7
Fla. $6,979 45
Ga. $6,541 49
Hawaii $9,863 8
Idaho $6,432 50
Ill. $8,518 21
Ind. $7,492 33
Iowa $9,176 14
Kans. $8,383 25
Ky. $6,985 44
La. $8,534 19
Maine $8,525 20
Md. $9,126 15
Mass. $9,774 10
Mich. $7,842 31
Minn. $9,495 12
Miss. $8,201 29
Mo. $7,133 43

Mont. $7,950 30
Nebr. $8,714 17
Nev. $6,727 46
N.H. $7,459 36
N.J. $9,856 9
N.M. $8,773 16
N.Y. $13,175 4
N.C. $7,492 33
N.D. $14,003 3
Ohio $8,251 28
Okla. $7,464 35
Ore. $8,657 18
Pa. $8,471 22
R.I. $9,564 11
S.C. $7,380 37
S.D. $7,373 38
Tenn. $6,559 48
Texas $7,250 40
Utah $7,359 39
Vt. $10,416 6
Va. $7,780 32
Wash. $8,414 23
W.Va. $8,407 24
Wis. $8,367 26
Wyo. $14,485 2
D.C. $18,397 (2)

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank



State Property
General 

Sales
Individual 
Income

Corporate 
Income

Other 
Taxes 

(a)
U.S. 31.3% 22.5% 23.3% 3.6% 19.3%
Ala. 18.0% 29.6% 22.5% 2.6% 27.3%
Alaska 20.8% 3.2% 0.0% 9.3% 66.7%
Ariz. 29.5% 39.8% 15.0% 2.9% 12.7%
Ark. 18.1% 35.8% 24.6% 3.7% 17.7%
Calif. 25.6% 21.7% 32.6% 3.6% 16.3%
Colo. 30.7% 26.8% 24.2% 2.9% 15.5%
Conn. 37.5% 14.8% 29.9% 2.2% 15.6%
Del. 17.9% 0.0% 27.8% 7.4% 46.9%
Fla. 36.0% 34.2% 0.0% 3.1% 26.7%
Ga. 30.4% 27.6% 26.4% 2.4% 13.2%
Hawaii 16.5% 38.8% 21.6% 1.5% 21.6%
Idaho 28.0% 25.9% 25.3% 3.9% 16.8%
Ill. 36.9% 14.1% 23.9% 6.4% 18.7%
Ind. 25.5% 27.3% 24.8% 3.1% 19.3%
Iowa 34.0% 20.5% 25.7% 3.1% 16.8%
Kans. 32.0% 29.3% 22.9% 3.0% 12.8%
Ky. 20.9% 19.6% 31.7% 5.0% 22.9%
La. 22.4% 38.6% 15.6% 1.4% 22.0%
Maine 39.6% 16.7% 23.9% 2.7% 17.1%
Md. 27.5% 12.7% 37.7% 2.9% 19.2%
Mass. 36.2% 13.5% 33.5% 4.9% 11.9%
Mich. 35.2% 22.8% 23.1% 2.4% 16.5%
Minn. 27.9% 17.1% 29.8% 4.5% 20.8%
Miss. 26.2% 31.1% 17.1% 4.1% 21.5%
Mo. 28.2% 25.4% 27.2% 2.2% 17.0%
Mont. 37.0% 0.0% 27.1% 4.4% 31.4%
Nebr. 35.4% 23.1% 24.2% 3.2% 14.1%
Nev. 25.1% 36.8% 0.0% 0.0% 38.2%
N.H. 64.1% 0.0% 1.8% 10.0% 24.1%
N.J. 47.4% 15.0% 21.5% 4.1% 12.0%
N.M. 18.6% 38.2% 16.2% 3.5% 23.5%

Taxes and Tax Measures

Table 8.  
Sources of State & Local Tax Collections, 
Percentage of Total from Each Source 
Fiscal Year 2013



N.Y. 31.0% 16.3% 31.7% 7.3% 13.7%
N.C. 25.0% 22.0% 31.1% 3.6% 18.2%
N.D. 12.9% 22.9% 10.1% 3.5% 50.5%
Ohio 28.4% 21.4% 29.7% 1.0% 19.5%
Okla. 17.0% 33.5% 21.7% 4.3% 23.4%
Ore. 32.9% 0.0% 40.8% 3.4% 23.0%
Pa. 29.7% 16.8% 26.0% 4.3% 23.1%
R.I. 44.5% 16.3% 20.2% 2.7% 16.4%
S.C. 33.7% 23.4% 22.0% 2.5% 18.3%
S.D. 35.1% 39.9% 0.0% 1.3% 23.8%
Tenn. 27.0% 40.1% 1.3% 6.2% 25.3%
Texas 40.4% 31.9% 0.0% 0.0% 27.7%
Utah 27.1% 24.9% 28.0% 3.2% 16.8%
Vt. 43.0% 10.5% 19.5% 3.1% 23.8%
Va. 33.7% 14.0% 31.1% 2.2% 18.9%
Wash. 30.6% 44.8% 0.0% 0.0% 24.6%
W.Va. 20.5% 17.4% 24.9% 3.4% 33.9%
Wis. 38.4% 17.3% 26.2% 3.5% 14.7%
Wyo. 37.5% 25.7% 0.0% 0.0% 36.8%
D.C. 31.9% 17.6% 26.6% 7.3% 16.7%

Taxes and Tax Measures

Table 8, Continued. 
Sources of State & Local Tax Collections, 
Percentage of Total from Each Source 
Fiscal Year 2013

(a) “Other Taxes” include excise taxes (such as those on alcohol, tobacco, 
motor vehicles, utilities, and licenses), severance taxes, stock transfer 
taxes, estate  and gift taxes, and other miscellaneous taxes.

Note: Percentages may not add to 100 due to rounding.

Source: Census Bureau; Tax Foundation calculations.

State Property
General 

Sales
Ind. 

Income
Corporate 

Income

Other 
Taxes 

(a)
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Table 9.  
Federal Aid as a Percentage of State 
General Revenue 
Fiscal Year 2013

Note: Figures are calculated by dividing each state’s “Intergovernmental 
Revenue” into its “General Revenue.” “General Revenue” includes all tax 
revenue but excludes utility revenue, liquor store revenue, and investment 
income from state pension funds. D.C. is included only in combined state 
and local data.

Source: Census Bureau; Tax Foundation calculations.

State

Fed. Aid as a 
Percentage 
of General 
Revenue Rank

U.S. 30.03%
Ala. 36.15% 9
Alaska 22.37% 48
Ariz. 34.85% 14
Ark. 32.87% 22
Calif. 24.96% 42
Colo. 27.79% 35
Conn. 23.38% 46
Del. 24.75% 45
Fla. 31.46% 28
Ga. 37.31% 7
Hawaii 21.49% 49
Idaho 34.37% 15
Ill. 25.89% 40
Ind. 33.41% 20
Iowa 31.92% 27
Kans. 24.85% 44
Ky. 35.10% 12
La. 41.94% 2
Maine 35.30% 10
Md. 28.62% 33
Mass. 28.66% 32
Mich. 32.81% 23
Minn. 26.38% 39
Miss. 42.89% 1
Mo. 38.21% 5

Mont. 37.42% 6
Nebr. 32.13% 26
Nev. 24.95% 43
N.H. 27.07% 38
N.J. 25.54% 41
N.M. 36.57% 8
N.Y. 28.01% 34
N.C. 32.52% 25
N.D. 18.97% 50
Ohio 33.61% 19
Okla. 33.79% 17
Ore. 34.98% 13
Pa. 30.42% 29
R.I. 33.63% 18
S.C. 30.23% 30
S.D. 39.03% 4
Tenn. 39.49% 3
Texas 32.62% 24
Utah 29.03% 31
Vt. 33.18% 21
Va. 22.88% 47
Wash. 27.30% 37
W.Va. 34.14% 16
Wis. 27.73% 36
Wyo. 35.18% 11

State

Fed. Aid as a 
Percentage 
of General 
Revenue Rank
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Table 10.  
Federal Income Tax Payments by Income 
Percentile 
Calendar Year 2013

Note: There are 138,313,155 total federal income tax filers. Total adjusted 
gross income (AGI) is $9,033,840,000,000. The top 1% of earners have 
AGI above $428,713; the top 5% have AGI above $179,760; the top 10% 
have AGI above $127,695; the top 25% have AGI above $74,955; and the 
top 50% have AGI above $36,841.

Source: Tax Foundation, “Summary of Latest Federal Individual Income Tax 
Data” (November 2015).

Income 
Percentile

Income 
Taxes Paid  
 ($ millions)

Group's 
Share of 
Total AGI

Group's 
Share of 

Income Taxes
Average 
Tax Rate

All Taxpayers $1,231,911 100.0% 100.0%
Top 1% $465,705 19.0% 37.8% 27.1%
Top 5% $721,242 34.4% 58.6% 23.2%
Top 10% $859,863 45.9% 69.8% 20.8%
Top 25% $1,062,798 68.1% 86.3% 17.3%
Top 50% $1,197,603 88.5% 97.2% 15.0%
Bottom 50% $34,307 11.5% 2.8% 3.3%



Taxes and Tax Measures

Table 11.  
Selected Federal Tax Rates
Calendar Year 2016

(a) These are total payroll tax rates. The Social Security tax is split 
evenly between employer and employee (6.2% each) for all income up 
to $118,500. The 1.45% Medicare tax is levied on both employers and 
employees on all income. The Additional Medicare Tax of 0.9% is levied 
only on employees with wages and compensation exceeding $200,000.

(b) In state excise tax Tables 22–28, federal gasoline, alcohol, cell phone, 
and tobacco excise taxes are included under the “Federal” line and are in 
addition to any state taxes.

Source: Tax Foundation; Internal Revenue Service; Commerce Clearing 
House; American Petroleum Institute; Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade 
Bureau.

Individual Income Tax
Single

Rates Brackets
10% > $0
15% > $9,275
25% > $37,650
28% > $91,150
33% > $190,150
35% > $413,350
39.6% > $415,050

Married Filing Jointly
Rates Brackets
10% > $0
15% > $18,450
25% > $74,900
28% > $151,200
33% > $230,450
35% > $411,500
39.6% > $464,850

Head of Household
Rates Brackets
10% > $0
15% > $13,250
25% > $50,400
28% > $130,150
33% > $210,800
35% > $413,350
39.6% > $441,000

Social Security and Medicare 
Payroll Taxes (a)

15.3% > $0
2.9% > $118,500
3.8% > $200,000

Corporate Income Tax
Rates Brackets
15% > $0
25% > $50,000
34% > $75,000
39% > $100,000
34% > $335,000
35% > $10,000,000
38% > $15,000,000
35% > $18,333,333

Select Federal Excise Taxes (b)
Item Rate
Pistols & Revolvers 10%
Other Firearms 11%
Ammunition 11%
Medical Devices 2.3%
Indoor Tanning 10%
Tackle Boxes 3%
Arrow Shafts 49¢/shaft
Air Transportation 7.5%
Truck Bodies 12%
Liq. Natural Gas 24.3¢/gallon
Surface Coal 4.4% or 

$0.55/ton



Individual Income Taxes

Table 12.  
State Individual Income Tax Rates 
As of January 1, 2016

State Rates Brackets
Ala. (e,f) 2% > $0 

4% > $500 
5% > $3,000 

Alaska None
Ariz. (a) 2.59% > $0

2.88% > $10,000
3.36% > $25,000
4.24% > $50,000
4.54% > $150,000

Ark. (c,d,g) 0.9% > $0 
2.5% > $4,299 
3.5% > $8,399 
4.5% > $12,599 
6.0% > $20,999 
6.9% > $35,099 

Calif. (a,d) 1.0% > $0 
2.0% > $7,850 
4.0% > $18,610 
6.0% > $29,372 
8.0% > $40,773 
9.3% > $51,530 

10.3% > $263,222 
11.3% > $315,866 
12.3% > $526,443 
13.3% >

Colo. 4.63% of federal 
taxable income

Conn. (g) 3.0% > $0 
5.0% > $10,000 
5.5% > $50,000 
6.0% > $100,000 
6.5% > $200,000 
6.9% > $250,000 

Del. (f) 2.20% > $2,000 
3.90% > $5,000 
4.80% > $10,000 
5.20% > $20,000 
5.55% > $25,000 
6.60% > $60,000 

Fla. None
Ga. 1% > $0 

2% > $750 
3% > $2,250 
4% > $3,750 
5% > $5,250 
6% > $7,000 

Hawaii 1.4% > $0 
3.2% > $2,400 
5.5% > $4,800 
6.4% > $9,600 
6.8% > $14,400 
7.2% > $19,200 
7.6% > $24,000 
7.9% > $36,000 

8.25% > $48,000 
Idaho (a,d) 1.6% > $0 

3.6% > $1,452 
4.1% > $2,904 
5.1% > $4,356 
6.1% > $5,808 
7.1% > $7,260 
7.4% > $10,890 

Ill.
3.75% of federal 

adjusted gross income 
with modifications

Ind. (f)
3.30% of federal 

adjusted gross income 
with modifications

Iowa (d,e) 0.36% > $0
0.72% > $1,539
2.43% > $3,078
4.50% > $6,156
6.12% > $13,851
6.48% > $23,085
6.80% > $30,780
7.92% > $46,170
8.98% > $69,255

Kans. (f) 2.70% > $0 
4.60% > $15,000 

State Rates Brackets



Individual Income Taxes

Ky. (f) 2.0% > $0 
3.0% > $3,000 
4.0% > $4,000 
5.0% > $5,000 
5.8% > $8,000 
6.0% > $75,000 

La. (e) 2% > $0 
4% > $12,500 
6% > $50,000 

Maine (d,h) 5.8% > $0 
6.75% > $21,049 
7.15% > $37,499 

Md. (f) 2.00% > $0 
3.00% > $1,000 
4.00% > $2,000 
4.75% > $3,000 
5.00% > $100,000 
5.25% > $125,000 
5.50% > $150,000 
5.75% > $250,000 

Mass. 5.10% > $0

Mich. (f)
4.25% of federal 

adjusted gross income 
with modification

Minn. (d) 5.35% > $0 
7.05% > $25,180 
7.85% > $82,740 
9.85% > $155,650 

Miss. 3% > $0 
4% > $5,000 
5% > $10,000 

Mo. (e,f) 1.5% > $0 
2.0% > $1,000 
2.5% > $2,000 
3.0% > $3,000 
3.5% > $4,000 
4.0% > $5,000 
4.5% > $6,000 
5.0% > $7,000 
5.5% > $8,000 

6.0% > $9,000 
Mont. (a,d,e) 1.0% > $0 

2.0% > $2,900 
3.0% > $5,100 
4.0% > $7,800 
5.0% > $10,500 
6.0% > $13,500 
6.9% > $17,400 

Nebr. (d,g) 2.46% > $0 
3.51% > $3,060 
5.01% > $18,370 
6.84% > $29,590 

Nev. None
N.H. (b) 5% > $0 
N.J. (f) 1.40% > $0 

1.75% > $20,000 
3.50% > $35,000 

5.525% > $40,000 
6.37% > $75,000 
8.97% > $500,000 

N.M. 1.7% > $0 
3.2% > $5,500 
4.7% > $11,000 
4.9% > $16,000 

N.Y. (f,g) 4.00% > $0 
4.50% > $8,450 
5.25% > $11,650 
5.90% > $13,850 
6.45% > $21,300 
6.65% > $80,150 
6.85% > $214,000 
8.82% > $1,070,350 

N.C. 5.75% > $0
N.D. (d) 1.10% > $0 

2.04% > $37,450 
2.27% > $90,750 
2.64% > $189,300 
2.90% > $411,500 
3.22% > $405,100

Table 12, Continued. 
State Individual Income Tax Rates 
As of January 1, 2016

State Rates Brackets State Rates Brackets



Individual Income Taxes

Ohio (a,d,f) 0.495% > $0 
0.990% > $5,200 
1.980% > $10,400 
2.476% > $15,650 
2.969% > $20,900 
3.465% > $41,700 
3.960% > $83,350 
4.597% > $104,250 
4.997% > $208,500 

Okla. 0.50% > $0 
1.00% > $1,000 
2.00% > $2,500 
3.00% > $3,750 
4.00% > $4,900 
5.00% > $7,200 
5.25% > $8,700

Ore. (d,e,f) 5.0% > $0 
7.0% > $3,350 
9.0% > $8,450 
9.9% > $125,000 

Pa. (f) 3.07% > $0 
R.I. (d) 3.75% > $0 

4.75% > $60,850 
5.99% > $138,300 

S.C. (d) 3% > $2,920 
4% > $5,840 
5% > $8,760 
6% > $11,680 
7% > $14,600 

S.D. None
Tenn. (b) 6% > $0 
Texas None
Utah 5% > $0 
Vt. (d) 3.55% > $0 

6.80% > $39,900
7.80% > $93,400
8.80% > $192,400
8.95% > $415,600

Va. 2.00% > $0 
3.00% > $3,000 
5.00% > $5,000 
5.75% > $17,000 

Wash. None
W.Va. 3.0% > $0 

4.0% > $10,000 
4.5% > $25,000 
6.0% > $40,000 
6.5% > $60,000 

Wis. (d) 4.00% > $0 
5.84% > $11,150 
6.27% > $22,230 
7.65% > $244,750 

Wyo. None
D.C. 4.00% > $0 

6.00% > $10,000 
7.00% > $40,000 
8.50% > $60,000
8.95% > $350,000

Table 12, Continued. 
State Individual Income Tax Rates 
As of January 1, 2016

State Rates Brackets State Rates Brackets



Table 12, Continued. 
State Individual Income Tax Rates 
As of January 1, 2016

(a) 2016 rates but 2015 brackets for California, Idaho, Montana, and 
Ohio. Laws in these states forbid revenue officials from inflation indexing 
brackets until midyear. Arizona will begin inflation adjusting in 2016.

(b) Tax applies to interest and dividend income only.

(c) Rates apply to individuals earning more than $75,000. Two special tax 
tables exist for low- and middle-income individuals: one for individuals 
below $21,000 in income and one for those between $21,000 and 
$75,000. Additionally, those between $75,000 and $80,000 in income 
receive a small bracket adjustment.  

(d) Bracket levels are adjusted for inflation each year. 

(e) These states allow some or all of federal income tax paid to be 
deducted from state taxable income.

(f) Local income taxes are excluded. Fourteen states have county- or city-
level income taxes; the average rate within each jurisdiction is: 0.5% in 
Alabama; 0.63% in Delaware; 1.56% in Indiana; 0.45% in Iowa; <0.01% in 
Kansas; 2.10% in Kentucky; 2.90% in Maryland; 1.75% in Michigan; 0.5% 
in Missouri; 0.50% in New Jersey; 2.11% in New York; 2.25% in Ohio; 
0.36% in Oregon; and 2.96% in Pennsylvania. Weighted local rates are 
from the Tax Foundation, 2016 State Business Tax Climate Index.

(g)  Arkansas, Connecticut, New York, and Nebraska have “tax benefit 
recapture,” by which many high-income taxpayers pay their top tax rate on 
all income, not just on amounts above the bracket threshold. 

Note: Brackets are for single taxpayers. Some states double bracket 
widths for joint filers (Ala., Ariz, Conn., Hawaii, Idaho, Kans., La., Maine, 
Nebr., Ore.). New York doubles all except the 6.85% bracket, which is 
effective at $300,000. California doubles all but the top bracket. Some 
states increase but do not double brackets for joint filers (Ga., Minn., 
N.M., N.C., N.D., Okla., R.I., Vt., Wis.). Maryland decreases some and 
increases others. New Jersey adds a 2.45% rate and doubles some bracket 
widths. Consult the Tax Foundation website for tables for married joint 
filers and married separate filers. 

Source: Tax Foundation; state tax statutes, forms, and instructions; 
Commerce Clearing House.

Individual Income Taxes



Individual Income Taxes

Table 13.  
State Individual Income Tax Collections 
per Capita 
Fiscal Year 2014

(a) State has no individual income tax.

(b) State does not tax wage income but does tax interest and dividend 
income.

Note: D.C. is included only in combined state and local data. See Table 39 
for average people per household by state.

Source: Census Bureau; Tax Foundation calculations.

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank

U.S. $975
Ala. $662 37
Alaska (a) $0 --
Ariz. $515 41
Ark. $877 26
Calif. $1,753 4
Colo. $1,057 17
Conn. $2,162 2
Del. $1,112 14
Fla. (a) $0 --
Ga. $888 24
Hawaii $1,229 11
Idaho $818 30
Ill. $1,247 10
Ind. $742 33
Iowa $1,028 21
Kans. $865 27
Ky. $850 28
La. $592 39
Maine $1,063 16
Md. $1,301 9
Mass. $1,961 3
Mich. $794 31
Minn. $1,746 5
Miss. $557 40
Mo. $884 25

Mont. $1,039 19
Nebr. $1,128 13
Nev. (a) $0 --
N.H. (b) $70 42
N.J. $1,340 7
N.M. $622 38
N.Y. $2,176 1
N.C. $1,045 18
N.D. $674 36
Ohio $726 34
Okla. $764 32
Ore. $1,674 6
Pa. $845 29
R.I. $1,032 20
S.C. $709 35
S.D. (a) $0 --
Tenn. (b) $37 43
Texas (a) $0 --
Utah $981 22
Vt. $1,077 15
Va. $1,306 8
Wash. (a) $0 --
W.Va. $958 23
Wis. $1,180 12
Wyo. (a) $0 --

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank



Individual Income Taxes

Table 14.  
State & Local Individual Income Tax Col-
lections per Capita 
Fiscal Year 2013

(a) State has no individual income tax.

(b) State does not tax wage income but does tax interest and dividend 
income.

Note: D.C.’s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in 
parentheses indicates where it would rank if included. See Table 39 for 
average people per household by state.

Source:Census Bureau; Tax Foundation calculations.

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank

U.S. $1,070
Ala. $687 37
Alaska (a) $0 --
Ariz. $512 41
Ark. $896 30
Calif. $1,739 5
Colo. $1,049 22
Conn. $2,172 2
Del. $1,283 10
Fla. (a) $0 --
Ga. $878 32
Hawaii $1,232 14
Idaho $801 34
Ill. $1,283 10
Ind. $941 29
Iowa $1,145 17
Kans. $1,022 25
Ky. $1,111 20
La. $592 39
Maine $1,153 16
Md. $2,061 3
Mass. $1,919 4
Mich. $866 33
Minn. $1,651 6
Miss. $587 40
Mo. $942 28

Mont. $1,031 24
Nebr. $1,124 18
Nev. (a) $0 --
N.H. (b) $75 42
N.J. $1,359 8
N.M. $595 38
N.Y. $2,550 1
N.C. $1,124 18
N.D. $887 31
Ohio $1,268 12
Okla. $757 35
Ore. $1,594 7
Pa. $1,201 15
R.I. $1,034 23
S.C. $704 36
S.D. (a) $0 --
Tenn. (b) $40 43
Texas (a) $0 --
Utah $982 26
Vt. $1,057 21
Va. $1,318 9
Wash. (a) $0 --
W.Va. $969 27
Wis. $1,258 13
Wyo. (a) $0 --
D.C. $2,526 (2)

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank



Corporate Income Taxes

Table 15.  
State Corporate Income Tax Rates 
As of January 1, 2016

State Rates Brackets
Ala. 6.5% > $0 
Alaska 0% > $0 

2% > $25,000 
3% > $49,000 
4% > $74,000 
5% > $99,000 
6% > $124,000 
7% > $148,000 
8% > $173,000 
9% > $198,000 

9.4% > $222,000 
Ariz. 5.5% > $0 
Ark. (a) 1% > $0 

2% > $3,000 
3% > $6,000 
5% > $11,000 
6% > $25,000 

6.5% > $100,000 
Calif. 8.84% > $0 
Colo. 4.63% > $0 
Conn. (b) 9% > $0 
Del. (c) 8.7% > $0 
Fla. 5.5% > $0 
Ga. 6% > $0 
Hawaii 4.4% > $0 

5.4% > $25,000 
6.4% > $100,000 

Idaho 7.4% > $0 
Ill. (d) 7.75% > $0 
Ind. (e) 6.5% > $0 
Iowa 6% > $0 

8% > $25,000 
10% > $100,000 
12% > $250,000 

Kans. 4% > $0 
7% > $50,000 

Ky. 4% > $0 
5% > $50,000 
6% > $100,000 

La. 4% > $0 
5% > $25,000 
6% > $50,000 
7% > $100,000 
8% > $200,000 

Maine 3.50% > $0 
7.93% > $25,000 
8.33% > $75,000 
8.93% > $250,000 

Md. 8.25% > $0 
Mass. 8.00% > $0 
Mich. 6.00% > $0 
Minn. 9.8% > $0 
Miss. 3% > $0 

4% > $5,000 
5% > $10,000 

Mo. 6.25% > $0 
Mont. 6.75% > $0 
Nebr. 5.58% > $0 

7.81% > $100,000 
Nev. (c)
N.H. 8.5% > $0 
N.J. (f) 9% > $100,000 
N.M. (g) 4.8% > $0 

6.4% > $500,000 
6.6% > $1,000,000 

N.Y. 6.5% > $0 
N.C. 4.0% > $0 
N.D. 1.41% > $0 

3.55% > $25,000 
4.31% > $50,000 

Ohio (c)
Okla. 6% > $0 
Ore. 6.6% > $0 

7.6% > $1,000,000 
Pa. 9.99% > $0 
R.I. 7% > $0 
S.C. 5% > $0 
S.D. None

State Rates Brackets



Table 15, Continued. 
State Corporate Income Tax Rates 
As of January 1, 2016

Tenn. 6.5% > $0 
Texas (c)
Utah 5% > $0 
Vt. 6.0% > $0 

7.0% > $10,000 
8.5% > $25,000 

Va. (c) 6% > $0 
Wash. (c)
W.Va. 6.5% > $0 
Wis. 7.9% > $0 
Wyo. None
D.C. 9.40% > $0

State Rates Brackets

(a) Arkansas assesses a surcharge of 3% of the taxpayer’s total liability.

(b) The rate includes a 20% surtax, which effectively increases the rate 
from 7.5% to 9%. Surtax is required by businesses with at least $100 
million annual gross income.

(c) Nevada, Ohio, Texas, and Washington do not have a corporate income 
tax but do have a gross receipts tax with rates not strictly comparable to 
corporate income tax rates. See Table 18 for more information. Delaware 
and Virginia have gross receipts taxes in addition to corporate income 
taxes.

(d) Illinois’ rate includes two separate corporate income taxes, one at a 
5.25% rate and one at a 2.5% rate. 

(e) The tax rate in Indiana will decrease to 6.25% on July 1, 2016.

(f) Corporations with entire net income greater than $100,000 pay 9% 
on all taxable income, companies with entire net income greater than 
$50,000 and less than or equal to $100,000 pay 7.5% on all taxable 
income, and companies with entire net income less than or equal to 
$50,000 pay 6.5% on all taxable income.

(g) The tax rate in New Mexico will decrease to 6.2% in 2017.

Note: In addition to regular income taxes, many states impose other 
taxes on corporations such as gross receipts taxes and franchise taxes. 
Some states also impose an alternative minimum tax and special rates on 
financial institutions.

Source: Tax Foundation; state tax statutes, forms, and instructions; 
Commerce Clearing House.

Corporate Income Taxes



Corporate Income Taxes

Table 16.  
State Corporate Income Tax Collections 
per Capita 
Fiscal Year 2014

(a) No corporate income tax. May include special taxes on financial 
corporations.

(b) The Census Bureau does not classify revenue from gross receipts 
taxes such as those in Delaware, Ohio, Texas, Virginia, and Washington as 
corporate tax revenue. See Table 18 for gross receipts taxes.

Note: D.C. is included only in combined state and local data. See Table 39 
for average people per household by state.

Source: Census Bureau; Tax Foundation calculations.

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank

U.S. $145
Ala. $84 42
Alaska $555 1
Ariz. $85 41
Ark. $134 23
Calif. $228 10
Colo. $134 23
Conn. $175 14
Del. (b) $298 6
Fla. $103 34
Ga. $93 37
Hawaii $89 38
Idaho $116 28
Ill. $333 4
Ind. $131 25
Iowa $125 26
Kans. $114 29
Ky. $153 19
La. $104 33
Maine $138 21
Md. $164 17
Mass. $325 5
Mich. $89 38
Minn. $241 9
Miss. $176 13
Mo. $59 44

Mont. $147 20
Nebr. $163 18
Nev. (a) $0 --
N.H. $409 2
N.J. $265 7
N.M. $99 36
N.Y. $246 8
N.C. $137 22
N.D. $338 3
Ohio (b) $0 --
Okla. $102 35
Ore. $125 26
Pa. $180 11
R.I. $114 29
S.C. $68 43
S.D. (a) $29 45
Tenn. $180 11
Texas (b) $0 --
Utah $105 32
Vt. $169 16
Va. (b) $89 38
Wash. (a,b) $0 --
W.Va. $110 31
Wis. $171 15
Wyo. (a) $0 --

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank



Corporate Income Taxes

Table 17.  
State & Local Corporate Income Tax Col-
lections per Capita 
Fiscal Year 2013

(a) No corporate income tax.

(b) The Census Bureau does not classify revenue from gross receipts 
taxes such as those in Delaware, Ohio, Texas, Virginia, and Washington as 
corporate tax revenue. See Table 18 for gross receipts taxes.

Note: D.C.’s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in 
parentheses indicates where it would rank if included. See Table 39 for 
average people per household by state.

Source: Census Bureau; Tax Foundation calculations.

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank

U.S. $168
Ala. $79 42
Alaska $856 1
Ariz. $100 36
Ark. $136 24
Calif. $194 11
Colo. $124 31
Conn. $159 18
Del. (b) $341 5
Fla. $106 35
Ga. $80 41
Hawaii $88 39
Idaho $124 31
Ill. $346 4
Ind. $119 33
Iowa $139 21
Kans. $133 25
Ky. $175 13
La. $55 44
Maine $129 29
Md. $160 17
Mass. $281 7
Mich. $90 38
Minn. $251 9
Miss. $139 21
Mo. $75 43

Mont. $169 14
Nebr. $147 20
Nev. (a) $0 --
N.H. $418 3
N.J. $256 8
N.M. $128 30
N.Y. $591 2
N.C. $131 27
N.D. $312 6
Ohio (b) $44 45
Okla. $152 19
Ore. $132 26
Pa. $201 10
R.I. $137 23
S.C. $81 40
S.D. $44 45
Tenn. $193 12
Texas (a,b) $0 --
Utah $114 34
Vt. $168 15
Va. (b) $93 37
Wash. (a,b) $0 --
W.Va. $131 27
Wis. $166 16
Wyo. (a) $0 --
D.C. $698 (2)

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank



Corporate Income Taxes

Table 18.  
State Gross Receipts Taxes 
As of January 1, 2016

(a) Virginia’s tax is locally levied and rates vary by business and 
jurisdiction. Approximately half of counties do not levy the tax. Some 
counties instead levy a capital stock tax. 

Note: Gross receipts taxes are complex business taxes imposed at a low 
rate but on a wide base of transactions, resulting in high effective tax 
rates that can vary by industry. These taxes also often have minimum 
taxes that can result in much higher effective rates for some small 
businesses.

Source: Commerce Clearing House; state revenue departments; Weldon 
Cooper Center for Public Service.

State Name of Tax Range of Rates

Del. Manufacturers' & Merchants' 
License Tax 0.0945% to .7468%

Nev. Commerce Tax 0.0051%-0.331%
Ohio Commercial Activities Tax (CAT) 0.26%
Texas Margin Tax 0.331% to .75%
Va. (a) Business/Professional/

Occupational License Tax (BPOL)
0.02% - 0.58%

Wash. Business & Occupation Tax (B&O) 0.13% - 3.3%



General Sales Taxes

State
State Tax 

Rate Rank

Avg. 
Local Tax 
Rate (a)

Combined 
Rate Rank

Ala. 4.00% 38 4.97% 8.97% 4
Alaska -- -- 1.78% 1.78% 46
Ariz. 5.60% 28 2.65% 8.25% 11
Ark. 6.50% 9 2.80% 9.30% 2
Calif. (b) 7.50% 1 0.98% 8.48% 10
Colo. 2.90% 45 4.62% 7.52% 15
Conn. 6.35% 12 -- 6.35% 31
Del. -- -- -- -- --
Fla. 6.00% 16 0.66% 6.66% 30
Ga. 4.00% 38 3.01% 7.01% 21
Hawaii (c) 4.00% 38 0.35% 4.35% 45
Idaho 6.00% 16 0.03% 6.03% 36
Ill. 6.25% 13 2.39% 8.64% 7
Ind. 7.00% 2 -- 7.00% 22
Iowa 6.00% 16 0.79% 6.79% 28
Kans. 6.50% 9 2.10% 8.60% 8
Ky. 6.00% 16 -- 6.00% 37
La. 4.00% 38 5.00% 9.00% 3
Maine 5.50% 29 -- 5.50% 42
Md. 6.00% 16 -- 6.00% 37
Mass. 6.25% 13 -- 6.25% 33
Mich. 6.00% 16 -- 6.00% 37
Minn. 6.875% 7 0.39% 7.27% 17
Miss. 7.00% 2 0.07% 7.07% 20
Mo. 4.225% 37 3.64% 7.86% 14
Mont. (d) -- -- -- -- --
Nebr. 5.50% 29 1.37% 6.87% 26
Nev. 6.85% 8 1.13% 7.98% 13
N.H. -- -- -- -- --
N.J. (e) 7.00% 2 -0.03% 6.97% 24
N.M. (c) 5.125% 32 2.38% 7.51% 16
N.Y. 4.00% 38 4.49% 8.49% 9

Table 19.  
State & Local Sales Tax Rates 
As of Jan 1, 2016



General Sales Taxes

N.C. 4.75% 35 2.15% 6.90% 25
N.D. 5.00% 33 1.82% 6.82% 27
Ohio 5.75% 27 1.39% 7.14% 19
Okla. 4.50% 36 4.32% 8.82% 6
Ore. -- -- -- -- --
Pa. 6.00% 16 0.34% 6.34% 32
R.I. 7.00% 2 -- 7.00% 22
S.C. 6.00% 16 1.22% 7.22% 18
S.D. (c) 4.00% 38 1.84% 5.84% 40
Tenn. 7.00% 2 2.46% 9.46% 1
Texas 6.25% 13 1.92% 8.17% 12
Utah (b) 5.95% 26 0.74% 6.69% 29
Vt. 6.00% 16 0.17% 6.17% 35
Va. (b) 5.30% 31 0.33% 5.63% 41
Wash. 6.50% 9 2.39% 8.89% 5
W.Va. 6.00% 16 0.20% 6.20% 34
Wis. 5.00% 33 0.41% 5.41% 44
Wyo. 4.00% 38 1.42% 5.42% 43
D.C. 5.75% (27) -- 5.75% (41)

Table 19, Continued. 
State & Local Sales Tax Rates 
As of Jan 1, 2016

(a) City, county, and municipal rates vary. These rates are weighted by 
population to compute an average local tax rate.

(b) Three states levy mandatory, statewide local add-on sales taxes at the 
state level: California (1%), Utah (1.25%), and Virginia (1%). We include 
these in their state sales tax rates.

(c) The sales taxes in Hawaii, New Mexico, and South Dakota have broad 
bases that include many business-to-business services.

(d) Due to data limitations, the table does not include sales taxes in local 
resort areas in Montana.

(e) Some counties in New Jersey are not subject to statewide sales tax 
rates and collect a local rate of 3.5%. Their average local score is repre-
sented as a negative.

Note: D.C.’s ranks do not affect states’ ranks, but the figures in parenthe-
ses indicate where it would rank if included.

Source: Sales Tax Clearinghouse; Tax Foundation calculations.

State
State Tax 

Rate Rank

Avg. 
Local Tax 
Rate (a)

Combined 
Rate Rank



Table 20.  
State General Sales Tax Collections per 
Capita 
Fiscal Year 2014

(a) No state-level general sales tax.

(b) The sales taxes in Hawaii, New Mexico, and South Dakota have broad 
bases that include many services, so figures are not strictly comparable to 
other states.

Note: Some states levy gross receipts taxes in addition to sales taxes, 
which the Census Bureau includes in sales tax collections data. D.C. 
is included only in combined state and local data. See Table 18 for 
information on gross receipts taxes. See Table 39 for average people per 
household by state.

Source: Census Bureau; Tax Foundation calculations.

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank

U.S. $851
Ala. $494 43
Alaska (a) $0 --
Ariz. $891 21
Ark. $1,055 12
Calif. $960 17
Colo. $488 44
Conn. $1,108 7
Del. (a) $0 --
Fla. $1,079 9
Ga. $508 42
Hawaii (b) $1,989 1
Idaho $840 26
Ill. $661 34
Ind. $1,061 11
Iowa $855 24
Kans. $1,028 13
Ky. $710 30
La. $629 37
Maine $896 20
Md. $702 31
Mass. $817 27
Mich. $849 25
Minn. $997 15
Miss. $1,104 8
Mo. $542 41

Mont. (a) $0 --
Nebr. $937 19
Nev. $1,349 4
N.H. (a) $0 --
N.J. $994 16
N.M. (b) $1,006 14
N.Y. $641 36
N.C. $588 39
N.D. $1,784 2
Ohio $881 22
Okla. $670 33
Ore. (a) $0 --
Pa. $742 29
R.I. $868 23
S.C. $698 32
S.D. (b) $1,072 10
Tenn. $946 18
Texas $1,199 6
Utah $619 38
Vt. $566 40
Va. $427 45
Wash. $1,666 3
W.Va. $661 34
Wis. $804 28
Wyo. $1,310 5

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank

General Sales Taxes



General Sales Taxes

Table 21.  
State & Local General Sales Tax 
Collections per Capita 
Fiscal Year 2013

Note: Some states levy gross receipts taxes in addition to sales taxes, 
which the Census Bureau includes in collections data. D.C.’s rank does not 
affect states’ ranks, but the figure in parentheses indicates where it would 
rank if included. See Table 18 for information on gross receipts taxes. See 
Table 39 for average people per household by state. 

Source: Census Bureau; Tax Foundation calculations.

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank

U.S. $1,034
Ala. $902 28
Alaska $294 46
Ariz. $1,361 9
Ark. $1,303 12
Calif. $1,159 17
Colo. $1,162 16
Conn. $1,072 20
Del. $0 --
Fla. $1,155 18
Ga. $916 25
Hawaii $2,214 1
Idaho $821 34
Ill. $759 39
Ind. $1,034 22
Iowa $913 27
Kans. $1,307 11
Ky. $687 42
La. $1,465 5
Maine $807 35
Md. $693 41
Mass. $773 38
Mich. $855 31
Minn. $946 24
Miss. $1,067 21
Mo. $880 29

Mont. $0 --
Nebr. $1,075 19
Nev. $1,425 6
N.H. $0 --
N.J. $949 23
N.M. $1,403 7
N.Y. $1,310 10
N.C. $795 36
N.D. $2,024 2
Ohio $915 26
Okla. $1,171 15
Ore. $0 --
Pa. $778 37
R.I. $837 32
S.C. $749 40
S.D. $1,398 8
Tenn. $1,247 13
Texas $1,231 14
Utah $873 30
Vt. $571 45
Va. $593 44
Wash. $1,978 3
W.Va. $677 43
Wis. $831 33
Wyo. $1,489 4
D.C. $1,671 (4)

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank



Excise Taxes

State Excise Tax
Other Taxes 

and Fees Total Rank
Federal 18.4¢
Ala. 16.0¢ 4.87¢ 20.87¢ 40
Alaska 8.95¢ 3.3¢ 12.25¢ 50
Ariz. 18.0¢ 1.0¢ 19.00¢ 43
Ark. 21.5¢ 0.3¢ 21.80¢ 38
Calif. 30.0¢ 10.62¢ 40.62¢ 5
Colo. 22.0¢ 0.0¢ 22.00¢ 37
Conn. 25.0¢ 12.51¢ 37.51¢ 6
Del. 23.0¢ 0.0¢ 23.00¢ 34
Fla. 4.0¢ 32.58¢ 36.58¢ 7
Ga. 26.0¢ 5.02¢ 31.02¢ 17
Hawaii 17.0¢ 25.35¢ 42.35¢ 4
Idaho 32.0¢ 0.0¢ 32.00¢ 14
Ill. 19.0¢ 11.2¢ 30.18¢ 20
Ind. 18.0¢ 11.89¢ 29.89¢ 23
Iowa 31.0¢ 1.0¢ 32.00¢ 14
Kans. 24.0¢ 0.03¢ 24.03¢ 31
Ky. 24.6¢ 1.4¢ 26.00¢ 30
La. 20.0¢ 0.01¢ 20.01¢ 41
Maine 30.0¢ 0.01¢ 30.01¢ 21
Md. 24.6¢ 8.0¢ 32.60¢ 13
Mass. 24.0¢ 2.54¢ 26.54¢ 29
Mich. 19.0¢ 11.54¢ 30.54¢ 18
Minn. 28.5¢ 0.1¢ 28.60¢ 25
Miss. 18.0¢ 0.79¢ 18.79¢ 45
Mo. 17.0¢ 0.3¢ 17.30¢ 46
Mont. 27.0¢ 0.75¢ 27.75¢ 27
Nebr. 26.8¢ 0.9¢ 27.70¢ 28
Nev. 23.0¢ 10.85¢ 33.85¢ 11
N.H. 22.2¢ 1.63¢ 23.83¢ 33
N.J. 10.5¢ 4.0¢ 14.50¢ 49
N.M. 17.0¢ 1.88¢ 18.88¢ 44
N.Y. 8.05¢ 34.59¢ 42.64¢ 3
N.C. 35.0¢ 0.25¢ 35.25¢ 8
N.D. 23.0¢ 0.0¢ 23.00¢ 34
Ohio 28.0¢ 0.0¢ 28.00¢ 26

Table 22.  
State Gasoline Tax Rates  
(Cents per Gallon) 
As of January 1, 2016



Excise Taxes

Okla. 16.0¢ 1.0¢ 17.00¢ 47
Ore. 30.0¢ 1.10¢ 31.10¢ 16
Pa. 0.0¢ 50.4¢ 50.40¢ 1
R.I. 33.0¢ 1.0¢ 34.00¢ 10
S.C. 16.0¢ 0.75¢ 16.75¢ 48
S.D. 28.0¢ 2.0¢ 30.00¢ 22
Tenn. 20.0¢ 1.4¢ 21.40¢ 39
Texas 20.0¢ 0.0¢ 20.00¢ 42
Utah 29.4¢ 0.01¢ 29.41¢ 24
Vt. 12.1¢ 18.36¢ 30.46¢ 19
Va. 19.83¢ 2.5¢ 22.33¢ 36
Wash. 44.5¢ 0.0¢ 44.50¢ 2
W.Va. 20.5¢ 14.1¢ 34.60¢ 9
Wis. 30.9¢ 2.0¢ 32.90¢ 12
Wyo. 23.0¢ 1.0¢ 24.00¢ 32
D.C. 23.5¢ 0.0¢ 23.50¢ (34)

Table 22, Continued. 
State Gasoline Tax Rates  
(Cents per Gallon) 
As of January 1, 2016

Note: The American Petroleum Institute (API) has developed a 
methodology for determining the average tax rate on a gallon of fuel. 
Rates may include any of the following: excise taxes, environmental fees, 
storage tank taxes, other fees or taxes, and general sales tax. In states 
where gasoline is subject to the general sales tax, or where the fuel tax 
is based on the average sale price, the average rate determined by API is 
sensitive to changes in the price of gasoline. States that fully or partially 
apply general sales taxes to gasoline are California, Connecticut, Georgia, 
Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, and New York. D.C.’s rank does not affect 
states’ ranks, but the figure in parentheses indicates where it would rank 
if included.

Source: American Petroleum Institute.

State Excise Tax
Other Taxes 

and Fees Total Rank



Excise Taxes

State

Gasoline 
& License 

Taxes Rank
Tolls & User 

Fees

Total: Tolls, 
User Fees, & 
User Taxes Rank

U.S. 41.4% 11.1% 52.5%
Ala. 35.1% 37 1.4% 36.5% 43
Alaska 8.8% 50 5.4% 14.3% 50
Ariz. 43.1% 17 0.8% 43.8% 32
Ark. 39.5% 26 0.7% 40.1% 40
Calif. 46.7% 11 7.4% 54.1% 15
Colo. 44.8% 13 6.5% 51.3% 21
Conn. 41.1% 23 3.9% 44.9% 28
Del. 22.1% 49 40.6% 62.7% 9
Fla. 52.5% 6 19.7% 72.1% 3
Ga. 43.3% 15 1.8% 45.1% 27
Hawaii 74.4% 1 5.3% 79.8% 1
Idaho 43.9% 14 4.2% 48.1% 23
Ill. 41.5% 21 14.3% 55.8% 12
Ind. 47.9% 9 0.6% 48.5% 22
Iowa 45.5% 12 1.4% 46.9% 25
Kans. 36.9% 33 5.7% 42.6% 36
Ky. 39.4% 27 1.1% 40.5% 39
La. 27.5% 43 2.4% 29.9% 45
Maine 38.0% 29 14.3% 52.2% 18
Md. 41.0% 24 22.0% 63.0% 8
Mass. 36.7% 34 19.0% 55.7% 13
Mich. 55.5% 5 6.3% 61.8% 10
Minn. 40.1% 25 3.3% 43.4% 34
Miss. 34.8% 38 0.2% 34.9% 44
Mo. 36.6% 35 2.2% 38.8% 42
Mont. 41.4% 22 2.6% 44.0% 30
Nebr. 37.1% 32 4.3% 41.4% 38
Nev. 42.4% 18 1.3% 43.7% 33
N.H. 29.7% 42 22.7% 52.3% 17
N.J. 26.4% 44 47.2% 73.6% 2
N.M. 37.6% 31 2.0% 39.6% 41
N.Y. 31.5% 41 38.4% 69.9% 4
N.C. 63.3% 2 1.3% 64.5% 7
N.D. 24.1% 47 2.2% 26.4% 46
Ohio 47.4% 10 6.6% 53.9% 16

Table 23.  
Share of State & Local Road Spending 
Covered by State & Local Tolls, User 
Fees, & User Taxes 
Fiscal Year 2013



Excise Taxes

Okla. 48.6% 8 11.0% 59.6% 11
Ore. 58.0% 4 6.9% 64.9% 6
Pa. 32.6% 40 14.8% 47.4% 24
R.I. 38.9% 28 5.0% 43.9% 31
S.C. 62.2% 3 7.6% 69.8% 5
S.D. 23.5% 48 1.5% 25.0% 49
Tenn. 51.6% 7 0.3% 51.9% 20
Texas 43.2% 16 11.2% 54.4% 14
Utah 42.0% 19 3.2% 45.2% 26
Vt. 24.3% 45 1.1% 25.4% 48
Va. 37.8% 30 7.0% 44.8% 29
Wash. 41.8% 20 10.3% 52.0% 19
W.Va. 34.5% 39 9.0% 43.4% 34
Wis. 36.6% 35 5.9% 42.5% 37
Wyo. 24.3% 45 1.4% 25.8% 47
D.C. 22.4% (49) 6.3% 28.7% (46)

Table 23, Continued. 
Share of State & Local Road Spending 
Covered by State & Local Tolls, User 
Fees, & User Taxes 
Fiscal Year 2013

Note: D.C.’s ranks do not affect states’ ranks, but the figures in 
parentheses indicate where it would rank if included.

Source: Tax Foundation calculations from the Census Bureau, State and 
Local Government Finance and Federal Highway Administration data. The 
state and local table includes state and local road expenses but excludes 
federal aid.

State

Gasoline 
& License 

Taxes Rank
Tolls & User 

Fees

Total: Tolls, 
User Fees, & 
User Taxes Rank



Excise Taxes

Table 24.  
State Cigarette Excise Tax Rates  
(Dollars per 20-Pack) 
As of January 1, 2016

Note: Local taxes are not included and can be substantial. D.C.’s rank does 
not states’ ranks, but the figure in parentheses indicates where it would 
rank if included.

Source: RJ Reynolds; state revenue departments; Tax Foundation.

State Tax Rate Rank
Federal $1.0066
Ala. $0.675 38
Alaska $2.00 11
Ariz. $2.00 11
Ark. $1.15 31
Calif. $0.87 34
Colo. $0.84 36
Conn. $3.65 3
Del. $1.60 22
Fla. $1.339 28
Ga. $0.37 48
Hawaii $3.20 5
Idaho $0.57 43
Ill. $1.98 16
Ind. $0.995 33
Iowa $1.36 27
Kans. $1.29 30
Ky. $0.60 41
La. $0.86 35
Maine $2.00 11
Md. $2.00 11
Mass. $3.51 4
Mich. $2.00 11
Minn. $3.00 8
Miss. $0.68 37
Mo. $0.17 50

Mont. $1.70 19
Nebr. $0.64 39
Nev. $1.80 17
N.H. $1.78 18
N.J. $2.70 9
N.M. $1.66 21
N.Y. $4.35 1
N.C. $0.45 46
N.D. $0.44 47
Ohio $1.60 22
Okla. $1.03 32
Ore. $1.32 29
Pa. $1.60 22
R.I. $3.75 2
S.C. $0.57 43
S.D. $1.53 25
Tenn. $0.62 40
Texas $1.41 26
Utah $1.70 19
Vt. $3.08 6
Va. $0.30 49
Wash. $3.025 7
W.Va. $0.55 45
Wis. $2.52 10
Wyo. $0.60 41
D.C. $2.50 (11)

State Tax Rate Rank



Excise Taxes

Table 25.  
State Spirits Excise Tax Rates  
(Dollars per Gallon) 
As of January 1, 2016

(a) Different rates are also applicable according to alcohol content, place 
of production, size of container, or place purchased (on- or off-premise or 
onboard airlines). 
(b) Control states, where the government controls all sales. Products can 
be subject to ad valorem mark-up as well as excise taxes. 
(c) Includes the wholesale tax rate of 11%, converted to a gallonage excise 
tax rate. 
(d) Includes case fees and/or bottle fees which may vary with size of 
container. 
(e) Includes sales taxes specific to alcoholic beverages. 
(f) Includes the retail (17%) and distributor (10%) license fees, converted 
into a gallonage excise tax rate.

Note: Rates are those applicable to off-premise sales of 40% alcohol by 
volume (a.b.v.) distilled spirits in 750ml containers. D.C.’s rank does not 
affect states’ ranks, but the figure in parentheses indicates where it would 
rank if included.

Source: Distilled Spirits Council of the United States.

State Tax Rate Rank
Federal $13.50
Ala. (b) $18.25 4
Alaska (a) $12.80 5
Ariz. $3.00 41
Ark. (d,e) $6.88 19
Calif. (a) $3.30 39
Colo. $2.28 46
Conn. (a) $5.40 28
Del. (a) $3.75 36
Fla. (a) $6.50 20
Ga. (a) $3.79 35
Hawaii $5.98 23
Idaho (b) $10.94 10
Ill. (a) $8.55 14
Ind. (a) $2.68 42
Iowa (b) $12.52 7
Kans. $2.50 43
Ky. (c) $7.54 17
La. (a) $2.50 43
Maine (b) $5.82 24
Md. (a,e) $4.64 31
Mass. (a) $4.05 34
Mich. (b) $11.94 9
Minn. (d,e) $8.67 13
Miss. (b) $7.74 15
Mo. $2.00 48

Mont. (b) $9.77 12
Nebr. $3.75 36
Nev. (a) $3.60 38
N.H. (b) -- --
N.J. $5.50 26
N.M. $6.06 22
N.Y. (a) $6.44 21
N.C. (b) $12.48 8
N.D. (a,e) $4.66 30
Ohio (b) $9.86 11
Okla. $5.56 25
Ore. (b) $22.74 2
Pa. (b) $7.23 18
R.I. (a) $5.40 28
S.C. (d) $5.42 27
S.D. (a,e) $4.63 32
Tenn. (d) $4.46 33
Texas (a) $2.40 45
Utah (b) $12.75 6
Vt. (b) $7.71 16
Va. (b) $19.86 3
Wash. (e,f) $33.54 1
W.Va. (b) $2.11 47
Wis. $3.25 40
Wyo. (b) -- --
D.C. (e) $5.69 (25)

State Tax Rate Rank



Excise Taxes

Table 26.  
State Wine Excise Tax Rates  
(Dollars per Gallon) 
As of January 1, 2016

(a) Different rates also applicable according to alcohol content, place of 
production, size of container, place purchased (on- or off-premise or on board 
airlines) or type of wine (carbonated, vermouth, etc.).

(b) Control states, where the government controls all sales. Products can be 
subject to ad valorem mark-up as well as excise taxes.

(c) Includes the wholesale tax rate of 11%, converted to a gallonage excise tax rate.

(d) Includes case fees and/or bottle fees which may vary with size of container.

(e) Includes sales taxes specific to alcoholic beverages.

Note: Rates are those applicable to off-premise sales of 11% alcohol by volume 
(a.b.v.) non-carbonated wine in 750ml containers. Federal rates vary by alcohol 
content and type of wine, ranging up to $3.15 for 21–24% alcohol and $3.40 
for sparking wine. D.C.’s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in 
parentheses indicates where it would rank if included.

Source: Distilled Spirits Council of the United States.

State Tax Rate Rank
Federal $1.07
Ala. (a) $1.70 5
Alaska $2.50 2
Ariz. (a) $0.84 26
Ark. (d,e) $1.35 12
Calif. (a) $0.20 43
Colo. (a) $0.32 38
Conn. (a) $0.72 27
Del. $0.97 22
Fla. (a) $2.25 3
Ga. (a) $1.51 7
Hawaii (a) $1.38 11
Idaho (a) $0.45 36
Ill. (a) $1.39 10
Ind. (a) $0.47 35
Iowa (a) $1.75 4
Kans. (a) $0.30 40
Ky. (c) $3.30 1
La. (a) $0.11 45
Maine (a) $0.60 31
Md. (e) $1.35 12
Mass. (a) $0.55 32
Mich. (a) $0.51 34
Minn. (d,e) $1.18 16
Miss. (a,b) -- --
Mo. $0.42 37

Mont. (a) $1.06 18
Nebr. (a) $0.95 23
Nev. (a) $0.70 29
N.H. (a,b) -- --
N.J. $0.88 24
N.M. (a) $1.70 5
N.Y. $0.30 40
N.C. (a) $1.00 20
N.D. (a) $1.06 18
Ohio (a) $0.32 38
Okla. (a) $0.72 27
Ore. (a) $0.67 30
Pa. (b) -- --
R.I. (a) $1.40 9
S.C. (a) $1.08 17
S.D. (a,e) $1.27 14
Tenn. (d) $1.27 14
Texas (a) $0.20 43
Utah (b) -- --
Vt. (a) $0.55 32
Va. (a) $1.51 7
Wash. (a) $0.87 25
W.Va. (a) $1.00 20
Wis. (a) $0.25 42
Wyo. (b) -- --
D.C. (a,e) $1.72 (5)

State Tax Rate Rank



Excise Taxes

Table 27.  
State Beer Excise Tax Rates  
(Dollars per Gallon) 
As of January 1, 2016

(a) Different rates are also applicable according to alcohol content, place 
of production, size of container, or place purchased (on- or off-premise or 
onboard airlines).

(b) Includes the statewide local rate in Alabama ($0.52) and Georgia 
($0.53).

(c) Includes sales taxes specific to alcoholic beverages.

(d) Includes case fees and/or bottle fees which may vary with the size of 
container.

(e) Includes the wholesale tax rate in Kentucky (11%) and Tennessee 
(17%), converted into a gallonage excise tax rate.

Note: Rates are those applicable to off-premise sales of 4.7% a.b.v. beer 
in 12 ounce containers. D.C.’s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the 
figure in parentheses indicates where it would rank if included.

Source: Distilled Spirits Council of the United States.

State Tax Rate Rank
Federal $0.58
Ala. (b) $1.05 3
Alaska $1.07 2
Ariz. $0.16 35
Ark. (c,d) $0.35 17
Calif. $0.20 28
Colo. $0.08 45
Conn. $0.23 26
Del. $0.16 35
Fla. (a) $0.48 10
Ga. (a,b) $1.01 4
Hawaii (a) $0.93 5
Idaho (a) $0.15 38
Ill. $0.23 26
Ind. $0.12 41
Iowa (a) $0.19 31
Kans. $0.18 32
Ky. (e) $0.84 6
La. $0.32 19
Maine $0.35 17
Md. (c) $0.49 9
Mass. $0.11 44
Mich. $0.20 28
Minn. (a,c) $0.47 11
Miss. $0.43 12
Mo. $0.06 48

Mont. $0.14 39
Nebr. $0.31 20
Nev. $0.16 35
N.H. $0.30 21
N.J. $0.12 41
N.M. $0.41 13
N.Y. $0.14 39
N.C. (a) $0.62 8
N.D. (a) $0.39 16
Ohio (a) $0.18 32
Okla. (a) $0.40 15
Ore. $0.08 45
Pa. $0.08 45
R.I. (d) $0.12 41
S.C. $0.77 7
S.D. $0.27 22
Tenn. (e) $1.29 1
Texas (a) $0.20 28
Utah (a) $0.41 13
Vt. $0.27 22
Va. (a) $0.26 24
Wash. (a) $0.26 24
W.Va. $0.18 32
Wis. (a) $0.06 48
Wyo. $0.02 50
D.C. (c) $0.64 (8)

State Tax Rate Rank



Excise Taxes

Table 28.  
State & Local Cell Phone Tax Rates 
As of July 1, 2015

(a) The federal tax listed is the federal Universal Service Fund (USF).

Note: The local tax rate is calculated as the average of the tax in the 
largest city and the capital city. D.C.’s rank does not affect states’ ranks, 
but the figure in parentheses indicates where it would rank if included.

Source: Tax Foundation, “Record High Taxes and Fees on Wireless 
Consumers in 2015” (November 2015).

State

Average 
State-Local 

Tax Rate Rank
Federal (a) 6.46%
Ala. 9.75% 26
Alaska 12.69% 13
Ariz. 11.98% 17
Ark. 14.31% 8
Calif. 11.60% 18
Colo. 10.78% 23
Conn. 7.44% 40
Del. 6.29% 46
Fla. 14.66% 7
Ga. 9.22% 28
Hawaii 7.61% 39
Idaho 2.17% 48
Ill. 17.46% 4
Ind. 11.06% 21
Iowa 8.71% 32
Kans. 13.53% 10
Ky. 10.56% 25
La. 7.29% 42
Maine 7.35% 41
Md. 12.67% 14
Mass. 8.93% 30
Mich. 8.28% 36
Minn. 9.54% 27
Miss. 9.14% 29
Mo. 14.79% 5

Mont. 6.11% 47
Nebr. 18.53% 2
Nev. 1.95% 49
N.H. 8.22% 37
N.J. 8.93% 30
N.M. 11.22% 20
N.Y. 17.90% 3
N.C. 8.59% 33
N.D. 12.27% 15
Ohio 8.42% 35
Okla. 10.88% 22
Ore. 1.80% 50
Pa. 14.14% 9
R.I. 14.70% 6
S.C. 10.58% 24
S.D. 13.14% 11
Tenn. 11.99% 16
Texas 11.53% 19
Utah 12.77% 12
Vt. 8.50% 34
Va. 6.61% 44
Wash. 18.69% 1
W.Va. 6.43% 45
Wis. 7.17% 43
Wyo. 7.95% 38
D.C. 11.63% (18)

State

Average 
State-Local 

Tax Rate Rank



Excise Taxes

State

State 
General 

Sales Tax
Grocery 

Treatment

Candy 
Treated as 
Groceries?

Soda 
Treated as 
Groceries?

Ala. 4.00% Included in Base Yes Yes
Alaska -- -- -- --
Ariz. 5.60% Exempt Yes Yes
Ark. 6.50% 1.50% Yes Yes
Calif. (a) 7.50% Exempt Yes No
Colo. 2.90% Exempt No No
Conn. 6.35% Exempt No No
Del. -- -- -- --
Fla. 6.00% Exempt No No
Ga. 4.00% Exempt Yes Yes
Hawaii 4.00% Included in Base Yes Yes
Idaho 6.00% Included in Base Yes Yes
Ill. 6.25% 1.00% No No
Ind. 7.00% Exempt No No
Iowa 6.00% Exempt No No
Kans. 6.50% Included in Base Yes Yes
Ky. 6.00% Exempt No No
La. 4.00% Exempt Yes Yes
Maine 5.50% Exempt No No
Md. 6.00% Exempt No No
Mass. 6.25% Exempt Yes Yes
Mich. 6.00% Exempt Yes Yes
Minn. 6.875% Exempt No No
Miss. 7.00% Included in Base Yes Yes
Mo. 4.225% 1.225% Yes Yes
Mont. -- -- -- --
Nebr. 5.50% Exempt Yes Yes
Nev. 6.85% Exempt Yes Yes
N.H. -- -- -- --
N.J. 7.00% Exempt No No
N.M. 5.125% Exempt Yes Yes
N.Y. 4.00% Exempt No No
N.C. 4.75% Exempt No No
N.D. 5.00% Exempt No No
Ohio 5.75% Exempt Yes No

Table 29.  
Sales Tax Treatment of Groceries, Candy, 
& Soda 
As of January 1, 2016



Excise Taxes

Table 29, Continued. 
Sales Tax Treatment of Groceries, Candy, 
& Soda 
As of January 1, 2016

(a) Three states collect a separate, uniform 1% “local” add-on sales tax: 
California, Utah, and Virginia. We include this in their state sales tax rates.

Source: Tax Foundation, “Overreaching on Obesity: Governments 
Consider New Taxes on Soda and Candy” (October 2011); Commerce 
Clearing House.

Okla. 4.50% Included in Base Yes Yes
Ore. -- -- -- --
Pa. 6.00% Exempt Yes No
R.I. 7.00% Exempt No No
S.C. 6.00% Exempt Yes Yes
S.D. 4.00% Included in Base Yes Yes
Tenn. 7.00% 5.00% Yes Yes
Texas 6.25% Exempt No No
Utah (a) 5.95% 1.75% Yes Yes
Vt. 6.00% Exempt Yes Yes
Va. (a) 5.30% 2.50% Yes Yes
Wash. 6.50% Exempt Yes No
W.Va. 6.00% Exempt No No
Wis. 5.00% Exempt No No
Wyo. 4.00% Exempt Yes Yes
D.C. 5.75% Exempt Yes No

State

State 
General 

Sales Tax
Grocery 

Treatment

Candy 
Treated as 
Groceries?

Soda 
Treated as 
Groceries?



Excise Taxes

Table 30.  
State & Local Excise & Selective Sales 
Tax Collections per Capita 
Fiscal Year 2013

Note: Excise taxes are sales and other special taxes imposed on select 
items, such as tobacco products, alcoholic beverages, and motor 
fuels. This table also includes excise taxes, or selective sales taxes, on 
amusements, insurance premiums, parimutuels, and public utilities. D.C.’s 
rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in parentheses indicates 
where it would rank if included. See Table 39 for average people per 
household by state.

Source: Census Bureau; Tax Foundation calculations.

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank

U.S. $535
Ala. $547 20
Alaska $450 33
Ariz. $304 48
Ark. $466 30
Calif. $507 24
Colo. $426 37
Conn. $812 5
Del. $542 21
Fla. $615 15
Ga. $322 46
Hawaii $868 3
Idaho $295 49
Ill. $716 8
Ind. $569 17
Iowa $430 36
Kans. $374 43
Ky. $601 16
La. $535 23
Maine $538 22
Md. $676 12
Mass. $388 41
Mich. $415 38
Minn. $817 4
Miss. $498 25
Mo. $384 42

Mont. $560 19
Nebr. $335 45
Nev. $887 2
N.H. $715 9
N.J. $439 35
N.M. $373 44
N.Y. $677 11
N.C. $447 34
N.D. $720 7
Ohio $467 29
Okla. $396 40
Ore. $453 32
Pa. $662 13
R.I. $629 14
S.C. $321 47
S.D. $478 27
Tenn. $458 31
Texas $568 18
Utah $405 39
Vt. $1,029 1
Va. $478 27
Wash. $683 10
W.Va. $785 6
Wis. $483 26
Wyo. $285 50
D.C. $655  (14)

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank



Property Taxes

Table 31.  
Property Taxes Paid as a Percentage of 
Owner-Occupied Housing Value 
Calendar Year 2014

Note: The figures in this table are mean effective property tax rates 
on owner-occupied housing (total real taxes paid/total home value). As 
a result, the data exclude property taxes paid by businesses, renters, 
and others. D.C.’s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in 
parentheses indicates where it would rank if included.

Source: 2014 American Community Survey, available from the Census 
Bureau; Tax Foundation calculations.

State
Effective Tax 

Rate Rank
U.S. 1.20%
Ala. 0.40% 49
Alaska 1.01% 20
Ariz. 0.66% 38
Ark. 0.64% 41
Calif. 0.73% 36
Colo. 0.59% 43
Conn. 1.53% 9
Del. 0.55% 45
Fla. 0.98% 24
Ga. 0.91% 27
Hawaii 0.28% 50
Idaho 0.73% 35
Ill. 1.98% 3
Ind. 0.86% 28
Iowa 1.42% 13
Kans. 1.30% 15
Ky. 0.80% 32
La. 0.50% 48
Maine 1.20% 17
Md. 1.00% 23
Mass. 1.11% 18
Mich. 1.46% 10
Minn. 1.09% 19
Miss. 0.65% 40
Mo. 1.00% 22

Mont. 0.75% 34
Nebr. 1.65% 7
Nev. 0.71% 37
N.H. 1.99% 2
N.J. 2.11% 1
N.M. 0.66% 39
N.Y. 1.38% 14
N.C. 0.84% 30
N.D. 0.95% 25
Ohio 1.58% 8
Okla. 0.85% 29
Ore. 1.01% 21
Pa. 1.46% 11
R.I. 1.46% 12
S.C. 0.55% 44
S.D. 1.22% 16
Tenn. 0.75% 33
Tex. 1.67% 6
Utah 0.63% 42
Vt. 1.70% 5
Va. 0.81% 31
Wash. 0.94% 26
W.Va. 0.53% 46
Wis. 1.74% 4
Wyo. 0.51% 47
D.C. 0.54% (46)

State
Effective Tax 

Rate Rank



Property Taxes

Table 32.  
State & Local Property Tax Collections 
per Capita 
Fiscal Year 2013

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank

U.S. $1,439
Ala. $548 50
Alaska $1,913 10
Ariz. $1,009 33
Ark. $659 48
Calif. $1,365 22
Colo. $1,333 24
Conn. $2,726 2
Del. $825 44
Fla. $1,216 28
Ga. $1,011 32
Hawaii $943 38
Idaho $888 41
Ill. $1,982 9
Ind. $968 36
Iowa $1,515 16
Kans. $1,425 19
Ky. $732 46
La. $849 42
Maine $1,907 11
Md. $1,504 17
Mass. $2,069 8
Mich. $1,320 25
Minn. $1,547 15
Miss. $899 40
Mo. $977 34

Mont. $1,407 20
Nebr. $1,649 13
Nev. $972 35
N.H. $2,690 3
N.J. $2,989 1
N.M. $685 47
N.Y. $2,494 4
N.C. $903 39
N.D. $1,140 30
Ohio $1,215 29
Okla. $595 49
Ore. $1,285 26
Pa. $1,376 21
R.I. $2,282 6
S.C. $1,077 31
S.D. $1,231 27
Tenn. $838 43
Texas $1,560 14
Utah $952 37
Vt. $2,331 5
Va. $1,430 18
Wash. $1,350 23
W.Va. $798 45
Wis. $1,843 12
Wyo. $2,173 7
D.C. $3,032 (1)

State
Collections 
per Capita Rank

Note: D.C.’s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in 
parentheses indicates where it would rank if included. See Table 39 for 
average people per household by state.

Source: Census Bureau; Tax Foundation calculations.



Property Taxes

Table 33.  
State Capital Stock Tax Rates 
As of January 1, 2016

State Tax Rate Max Payment
Ala. 0.175% $15,000
Ark. 0.3% Unlimited
Conn. (a) 0.31% $1,000,000
Del. 0.0350% $180,000
Ga. (b) $5,000
Ill. 0.1% $2,000,000
La. 0.3% Unlimited
Mass. 0.26% Unlimited
Miss. 0.25% Unlimited
Nebr. (b) $11,995
N.Y. (a,c) 0.125% $1,000,000
N.C. 0.15% Unlimited
Okla. 0.125% $20,000
S.C. 0.1% Unlimited
Tenn. 0.25% Unlimited
Wyo. (a) 0.02% Unlimited

(a) Taxpayer pays the greater of corporate income tax or capital stock tax 
liability.

(b) Based on a fixed dollar payment schedule. Effective tax rates decrease 
as taxable capital increases.

(c) Tax is being phased out; liability limited to liability in tax year ending 
December 31, 2010.

Note: Capital stock taxes are levied on net assets of a company or its 
market capitalization.

Source: State statutes; Commerce Clearing House.



Estate and Inheritance Taxes

Table 34.  
Estate Tax Rates & Exemptions
As of January 1, 2016

State Exemption Rate (Min. to Max.)
Conn. $2,000,000 7.2% - 12.0%
Del. $5,450,000 0.8% - 16.0%
Hawaii $5,450,000 0.8% - 16.0%
Ill. $4,000,000 0.8% - 16.0%
Maine $5,450,000 8.0% - 12.0%
Md. (a) $2,000,000 16.0%
Mass. $1,000,000 0.8% - 16.0%
Minn. $1,600,000 9.0% - 16.0%
N.J. (a) $675,000 0.8% - 16.0%
N.Y. (b) $3,125,000 3.06% - 16.0%
Ore. $1,000,000 10%-16%
R.I. $1,500,000 0.8% - 16.0%
Vt. $2,750,000 0.8% - 16.0%
Wash. $2,078,000 10.0% - 20.0%
D.C. $1,000,000 0.8% - 16.0%

(a) Maryland and New Jersey have both an estate and an inheritance tax.  
See Table 35.

(b) Exemption increases to $4,187,500 on April 1, 2016.

Source: Family Business Coalition; state statutes.



Estate and Inheritance Taxes

Table 35.  
Inheritance Tax Rates & Exemptions
As of January 1, 2016

State Heir type Exemption
Rate  

(Min. to Max.)
Iowa (a) Class A 100% exempt 0

Class B No exemption 5% - 10%
Class C No exemption 10% - 15%
Class D No exemption 15%
Class E No exemption 10%
Class F No exemption 5%
Class G 100% exempt 0%

Ky. Class A 100% exempt 0
Class B $1,000 4% - 16%
Class C $500 6% - 16%

Md. (b) Spouse/Lineal Heirs 100% exempt 0%
All others No exemption 10%

Nebr. (c) Immediate Relative $40,000 1%
Remote Relative $15,000 13%

All others $10,000 15%
N.J. (b,d) Class A 100% exempt 0%

Class C $0 11 - 16%
Class D $0 15 - 16%
Class E 100% exempt 0%

Pa. (e) Spouses 100% exempt 0%
Lineal Heirs No exemption 4.5%

Siblings No exemption 12%
Others No exemption 15%

(a) Class D is for-profit organizations; Class E, foreign charitable 
organizations; Class F, unknown heirs; and Class G, recognized charities. 
(b) Maryland and New Jersey have both an estate tax and an inheritance 
tax. See Table 34. 
(c) Nebraska’s inheritance tax is levied at the county level. 
(d) New Jersey’s inheritance tax only applies to estates over $1m. Class E 
is charitable organizations. 
(e) Parent-to-child transfers to children 21 years and under, transfers 
of farms and farming equipment, and transfers of some family-owned 
businesses are exempt.

Note: Inheritance taxes are levied on the posthumous transfer of assets 
based on relationship to the decedent. Generally, Class A beneficiaries 
are spouses, children, and often siblings. Class B beneficiaries are non-
immediate family members. Class C beneficiaries are non-family members. 
Unlike estate taxes, the term “exemption” here applies not to the size of 
the estate but to the size of the gift itself. 

Source: Family Business Coalition; state statutes.



State Debt

Table 36.  
State Debt per Capita 
Fiscal Year 2013

Note: This shows debt at the end of the fiscal year. D.C. is included only 
in combined state and local data. 

Source: Census Bureau; Tax Foundation.

State
Debt per 

Capita Rank
U.S. $3,594
Ala. $1,875 43
Alaska $8,432 4
Ariz. $2,070 40
Ark. $1,334 46
Calif. $3,962 19
Colo. $3,094 28
Conn. $8,995 3
Del. $6,219 8
Fla. $1,934 42
Ga. $1,330 47
Hawaii $5,905 9
Idaho $2,262 38
Ill. $4,939 11
Ind. $3,434 24
Iowa $2,150 39
Kans. $2,358 37
Ky. $3,407 25
La. $4,017 17
Maine $4,045 15
Md. $4,391 12
Mass. $11,352 1
Mich. $3,068 30
Minn. $2,504 33
Miss. $2,378 36
Mo. $3,195 27

Mont. $3,508 21
Nebr. $988 49
Nev. $1,294 48
N.H. $6,626 7
N.J. $7,215 5
N.M. $3,466 22
N.Y. $6,907 6
N.C. $1,935 41
N.D. $2,535 32
Ohio $2,863 31
Okla. $2,469 34
Ore. $3,462 23
Pa. $3,678 20
R.I. $9,088 2
S.C. $3,088 29
S.D. $4,052 14
Tenn. $953 50
Texas $1,495 45
Utah $2,428 35
Vt. $5,310 10
Va. $3,389 26
Wash. $4,370 13
W.Va. $3,970 18
Wis. $4,037 16
Wyo. $1,750 44

State
Debt per 

Capita Rank



State Debt

Table 37.  
State & Local Debt per Capita 
Fiscal Year 2013

Note: This shows total outstanding debt at the end of the fiscal year. 
D.C.’s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in parentheses 
indicates where it would rank if included. See Table 39 for average people 
per household by state.

Source: Census Bureau; Tax Foundation.

State
Debt per 

Capita Rank
U.S. $9,338
Ala. $6,546 37
Alaska $13,039 3
Ariz. $7,339 32
Ark. $4,784 47
Calif. $10,941 9
Colo. $10,092 12
Conn. $12,058 4
Del. $9,005 16
Fla. $7,473 31
Ga. $5,573 43
Hawaii $10,151 11
Idaho $3,645 49
Ill. $11,536 6
Ind. $7,520 30
Iowa $5,982 40
Kans. $8,925 17
Ky. $9,479 15
La. $8,435 22
Maine $6,326 39
Md. $8,238 23
Mass. $14,213 2
Mich. $7,708 28
Minn. $8,863 19
Miss. $4,724 48
Mo. $7,541 29

Mont. $5,231 45
Nebr. $8,008 24
Nev. $9,606 14
N.H. $8,643 21
N.J. $11,334 7
N.M. $7,823 26
N.Y. $17,584 1
N.C. $5,233 44
N.D. $6,438 38
Ohio $7,128 34
Okla. $4,899 46
Ore. $8,858 20
Pa. $10,188 10
R.I. $11,692 5
S.C. $8,874 18
S.D. $6,954 35
Tenn. $5,667 42
Texas $9,989 13
Utah $6,759 36
Vt. $7,247 33
Va. $7,919 25
Wash. $11,084 8
W.Va. $5,882 41
Wis. $7,737 27
Wyo. $3,420 50
D.C. $19,104 (1)

State
Debt per 

Capita Rank



Data

Table 38.  
Income per Capita by State 
Calendar Year 2014

Note: Per capita personal income is total personal income divided by 
total midyear population. All dollar estimates are in current dollars (not 
adjusted for inflation). D.C.’s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the 
figure in parentheses indicates where it would rank if included.

Source: Bureau of Economic Analysis.

State
Income per 

Capita Rank
U.S. $46,049
Ala. $37,512 44
Alaska $54,012 8
Ariz. $37,895 41
Ark. $37,782 42
Calif. $49,985 11
Colo. $48,869 14
Conn. $64,864 1
Del. $46,378 20
Fla. $42,737 28
Ga. $38,980 40
Hawaii $46,034 21
Idaho $36,734 47
Ill. $47,643 17
Ind. $39,578 38
Iowa $44,937 24
Kans. $44,891 25
Ky. $37,396 45
La. $42,030 30
Maine $40,745 33
Md. $54,176 7
Mass. $58,737 2
Mich. $40,740 35
Minn. $48,998 13
Miss. $34,431 50
Mo. $41,639 31

Mont. $39,903 37
Nebr. $47,557 18
Nev. $40,742 34
N.H. $52,773 9
N.J. $57,620 3
N.M. $37,091 46
N.Y. $55,611 5
N.C. $39,171 39
N.D. $55,802 4
Ohio $42,236 29
Okla. $43,637 27
Ore. $41,220 32
Pa. $47,679 16
R.I. $48,359 15
S.C. $36,677 48
S.D. $45,279 23
Tenn. $40,457 36
Texas $45,669 22
Utah $37,664 43
Vt. $46,428 19
Va. $50,345 10
Wash. $49,610 12
W.Va. $36,132 49
Wis. $44,186 26
Wyo. $54,584 6
D.C. $69,838 (1)

State
Income per 

Capita Rank



Data

Table 39.  
People per Household by State
2013-2014

Note: This does not include persons living in institutionalized housing, 
defined as adult or juvenile correctional institutions, some medical and 
military facilities, hospitals, and psychiatric facilities.

Source: Census Bureau; Tax Foundation.

State 2013 2014
U.S. 2.65  2.65
Ala. 2.59 2.57
Alaska 2.88 2.84
Ariz. 2.70 2.71
Ark. 2.56 2.55
Calif. 2.97 2.98
Colo. 2.57 2.57
Conn. 2.60 2.57
Del. 2.66 2.60
Fla. 2.65 2.66
Ga. 2.74 2.74
Hawaii 3.02 3.05
Idaho 2.69 2.71
Ill. 2.63 2.64
Ind. 2.55 2.56
Iowa 2.42 2.42
Kans. 2.53 2.55
Ky. 2.50 2.50
La. 2.60 2.63
Maine 2.36 2.35
Md. 2.68 2.70
Mass. 2.54 2.55
Mich. 2.52 2.53
Minn. 2.49 2.50
Miss. 2.66 2.64
Mo. 2.48 2.50

Mont. 2.43 2.42
Nebr. 2.49 2.47
Nev. 2.75 2.74
N.H. 2.47 2.47
N.J. 2.74 2.74
N.M. 2.71 2.68
N.Y. 2.64 2.63
N.C. 2.55 2.56
N.D. 2.33 2.33
Ohio 2.47 2.46
Okla. 2.58 2.58
Ore. 2.52 2.53
Pa. 2.50 2.50
R.I. 2.49 2.47
S.C. 2.58 2.57
S.D. 2.45 2.45
Tenn. 2.55 2.55
Texas 2.84 2.84
Utah 3.17 3.16
Vt. 2.37 2.34
Va. 2.62 2.62
Wash. 2.58 2.58
W.Va. 2.44 2.45
Wis. 2.44 2.43
Wyo. 2.54 2.45
D.C. 2.23 2.23

State 2013 2014
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