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58-17b-504 Penalty for unlawful or unprofessional conduct -- Fines -- Citations.
(1) Any person who violates any of the unlawful conduct provisions of Subsection 58-1-501(1)(a)(i)

and Subsections 58-17b-501(7) and (11) is guilty of a third degree felony.
(2) Any person who violates any of the unlawful conduct provisions of Subsection 58-1-501(1)

(a)(ii), Subsections 58-1-501(1)(b) through (e), and Section 58-17b-501, except Subsections
58-17b-501(7) and (11), is guilty of a class A misdemeanor.

(3)
(a) Subject to Subsection (5) and in accordance with Section 58-17b-401, for acts of

unprofessional or unlawful conduct, the division may:
(i) assess administrative penalties; and
(ii) take any other appropriate administrative action.

(b) An administrative penalty imposed pursuant to this section shall be deposited in the General
Fund as a dedicated credit to be used by the division for pharmacy licensee education and
enforcement as provided in Section 58-17b-505.

(4) If a licensee has been convicted of violating Section 58-17b-501 prior to an administrative
finding of a violation of the same section, the licensee may not be assessed an administrative
fine under this chapter for the same offense for which the conviction was obtained.

(5)
(a) If upon inspection or investigation, the division concludes that a person has violated the

provisions of Section 58-17b-501 or 58-17b-502, Chapter 37, Utah Controlled Substances
Act, Chapter 37f, Controlled Substance Database Act, Chapter 1, Division of Occupational
and Professional Licensing Act, or any rule or order issued with respect to these provisions,
and that disciplinary action is appropriate, the director or the director's designee from within
the division shall promptly issue a citation to the person according to this chapter and any
pertinent rules, attempt to negotiate a stipulated settlement, or notify the person to appear
before an adjudicative proceeding conducted under Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative
Procedures Act.

(b) Any person who is in violation of the provisions of Section 58-17b-501 or 58-17b-502, Chapter
37, Utah Controlled Substances Act, Chapter 37f, Controlled Substance Database Act,
Chapter 1, Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing Act, or any rule or order
issued with respect to these provisions, as evidenced by an uncontested citation, a stipulated
settlement, or a finding of violation in an adjudicative proceeding, may be assessed a fine
pursuant to this Subsection (5) of up to $10,000 per single violation or up to $2,000 per day
of ongoing violation, whichever is greater, in accordance with a fine schedule established by
rule, and may, in addition to or in lieu of, be ordered to cease and desist from violating the
provisions of Section 58-17b-501 or 58-17b-502, Chapter 37, Utah Controlled Substances
Act, Chapter 1, Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing Act, or any rule or order
issued with respect to these provisions.

(c) Except for an administrative fine and a cease and desist order, the licensure sanctions cited in
Section 58-17b-401 may not be assessed through a citation.

(d) Each citation shall be in writing and specifically describe with particularity the nature of the
violation, including a reference to the provision of the chapter, rule, or order alleged to have
been violated.  The citation shall clearly state that the recipient must notify the division in
writing within 20 calendar days of service of the citation in order to contest the citation at a
hearing conducted under Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act.  The citation
shall clearly explain the consequences of failure to timely contest the citation or to make
payment of any fines assessed by the citation within the time specified in the citation.



Utah Code

Page 2

(e) Each citation issued under this section, or a copy of each citation, may be served upon any
person upon whom a summons may be served:

(i) in accordance with the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure;
(ii) personally or upon the person's agent by a division investigator or by any person specially

designated by the director; or
(iii) by mail.

(f) If within 20 calendar days from the service of a citation, the person to whom the citation was
issued fails to request a hearing to contest the citation, the citation becomes the final order of
the division and is not subject to further agency review.  The period to contest the citation may
be extended by the division for cause.

(g) The division may refuse to issue or renew, suspend, revoke, or place on probation the license
of a licensee who fails to comply with the citation after it becomes final.

(h) The failure of an applicant for licensure to comply with a citation after it becomes final is a
ground for denial of license.

(i) No citation may be issued under this section after the expiration of six months following the
occurrence of any violation.

Amended by Chapter 23, 2011 General Session


